Irreplaceable: The fight to save our wild places

£18.95

Irreplaceable: The fight to save our wild places Author: Format: Hardback First Published: Published By: Penguin Books Ltd
string(3) "416"
Pages: 416 Language: English ISBN: 9780241293881 Categories: , , , , ,

SHORTLISTED FOR THE WAINWRIGHT PRIZE FOR WRITING ON GLOBAL CONSERVATION 2020

For readers of George Monbiot, Isabella Tree and Robert Macfarlane – an urgent and lyrical account of endangered places around the globe and the people fighting to save them.

All across the world, irreplaceable habitats are under threat. Unique ecosystems of plants and animals are being destroyed by human intervention. From the tiny to the vast, from marshland to meadow, and from Kent to Glasgow to India to America, they are disappearing. Irreplaceable is not only a love letter to the haunting beauty of these landscapes and the wild species that call them home, including nightingales, lynxes, hornbills, redwoods and elephant seals, it is also a timely reminder of the vital connections between humans and nature, and all that we stand to lose in terms of wonder and wellbeing.

Irreplaceable: The fight to save our wild places is a book about the power of resistance in an age of loss; a testament to the transformative possibilities that emerge when people come together to defend our most special places and wildlife from extinction. Exploring treasured coral reefs and remote mountains, tropical jungle and ancient woodland, urban allotments and tallgrass prairie, Julian Hoffman traces the stories of threatened places around the globe through the voices of local communities and grassroots campaigners as well as professional ecologists and academics. And in the process, he asks what a deep emotional relationship with place offers us – culturally, socially and psychologically. In this rigorous, intimate and impassioned account, he presents a powerful call to arms in the face of unconscionable natural destruction.

Weight0.648 kg

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

The power of Hoffman's book lies in the reporting: he doesn't deal - as many environmentalists do - in generalities and alarmist warnings about what lies ahead for the world, but in the specifics of the here and now. * Evening Standard * An impassioned account of the importance of Nature in our lives, and a timely reminder of the need to take action in the face of unprecendented destruction of the natural world. * The Countryman * If the pen really is mightier than the sword, then Julian Hoffman is a knight errant, looking for trouble, a champion of underdogs. * Caught by the River * A passionate and lyrical work of reportage and advocacy. * Guardian * Lyrical and hugely intelligent * New Statesman * A powerful, tender, inspiring clarion call to save the places that matter, right across the globe. * Nature's Home * A powerful hymn to humanity engaging with nature...[a] remarkable, illuminating book. * Irish Times * if you read one book this year, make it Julian Hoffman's Irreplaceable * Shiny New Books *

Author Biography

Julian Hoffman is the author of The Small Heart of Things, which won the 2012 AWP Award Series for Creative Nonfiction and the National Outdoor Book Award for Natural History Literature. He was also the winner of the Terrain.org Nonfiction Prize and has written for EarthLines, Kyoto Journal, Beloit Fiction Journal, Briar Cliff Review, Flyway, Redwood Coast Review, Silk Road Review and Southern Humanities Review, amongst others. He lives in north-western Greece.