Cassiobury Park has an incredible history. Not only is it one of the remnants of the greatest lost estates in the country, it is now one of the most popular parks in the country and locally is the largest park in Hertfordshire, and the principal park of its primary town, Watford. It covers an impressive area which is twice the size of Hyde Park in London. Arthur Capel was made the Earl of Essex and in time moved to Cassiobury. The Capels had a major impact on Cassiobury. By 1800, the 5th Earl of Essex employed noted and respected architect James Wyatt to rebuild his house. Successive landscape gardeners were employed here, from Moses Cook to Humphry Repton, with the landscape captured by J. M. W. Turner on visits to Cassiobury. By 1881, the parkland was already well established with fine trees, woodland walks, with many deer in the park, often traded with the royal deer parks at Richmond, Bushy and Windsor Great Park. By the beginning of the twentieth century, decline had set in and large areas of the park had been sold off to Watford Borough Council for public parkland – the beginnings of the public park we know today. Cassiobury Park: The Postcard Collection takes the reader on an evocative journey into the park’s rich past through a selection of old postcards that offer a fascinating window into its history and continuing development.
We ship worldwide - see checkout for options
Exceptional customer service trusted by 100's
There are no reviews yet.